Jet Ski FAQs

The Basics

How old do I need to be to rent a Jet Ski/Waverunner?

New Jersey State Law states that PWC rental business (that's us) must not rent to anyone under the age of 18 years. (all drivers must be 18 or older to rent with proper ID)

How fast will your Jet skis go at East Coast Jet Ski?

Ahh, the most asked question of all! It really depends on the water condition (How choppy the water is due to wind and waves) and the total weight onboard. One person on a ski will obviously go faster than three people on a ski. At East Coast Jet Ski, the skis we rent are capable of going over 55 miles per hour, and on the water - that's fast! You don't have to go fast of course, but if you want to, our exclusive riding area allows enough freedom to keep your machine full-throttle for the entire ride!

Can we take the Jet skis anywhere we want?

This is the second most asked question. New Jersey law requires that any rental Jetski stay within visible sight of our highly trained escorts in a designated area (they are there for your safety.) This means that each trip has a personal lifeguard (or two) along with them for the duration of your adventure.

What are the requirements for passengers (non-drivers) and children under 18 yrs?

Children must be 44" or taller typically 6yrs old to be a passenger on a ski. A parent or guardian must fill out a waiver. Non- drivers over 18 must also fill out a rental and liability wavier.

What forms of payment are accepted?

CASH, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, travelers checks and on-line DISCOUNTED ticket vouchers are gladly accepted. Please provide identification with your payment at check-in.

How do I make a reservation?

Call us at 609-898-USKI or use our on-line DISCOUNTED ticket voucher system to locate available trips and place your reservation. When calling, please be ready with your contact information, number of skis, along with a Visa, MasterCard or Discover card to hold your reservation. On-line DISCOUNTED ticket vouchers/Gift cards/and Gift certificates cannot be used to hold reservation.

What is East Coast's Jet Skis cancellation policy?

Reservations require a 24 hour notice of cancellation. Any skis not canceled 24 hours prior to trip will be charged 50% of the rental.

When is the Jet Ski season?

East Coast Jet ski operates pwc rentals from mid May until mid September. Gift cards & Gear can be bought all year round.

How long is each trip?

45min rentals starting at 9:30am. Trips depart every hour until Sun-Set from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We offer a limited number of trips in May and September. **Please call for pre and post season availability.**

Do I need Boating License to rent?

No. Our highly trained staff teaches you everything you need to know for your fun on the water.

Do I need a Driver's License?

Yes, For ID purpose only, but if you for some reason don't drive a car you will need some other form of photo ID

I've never ridden a waverunner, will someone show me what to do?

You bet! Our On-water guide (escort) will go over the "rules of the water", including safety information and familiarizing you with the equipment and how it works before you hit the water.

How do I know when my time is up?

We provide an On-water guide that will be on hand to assist with any assistance that you may need, they will also let you know when it's time to come back in.

What is the On-Water Guide for?

Our guide is there for your safety. He's there (on his own ski) to lead you through any of the speed restricted safety zones (NO WAKE ZONES), he'll even point out some local points of interest as you are led to the area where the serious play begins. Once there our guide will be on hand to provide any assistance that you may need. When your time draws to an end then he'll lead you back to the dock and assist you with safely docking your ski.

Wow that's great, how much does it cost for the guide?

There is no additional charge, it's all part of the top level service that East Coast Jet Ski provides our guests. However it is customary to tip your Guide (escort) if you feel he or she did an exceptional job!

Does the instruction time count as part of my driving time?

No way! Your East Coast Jetski adventure does not begin until you physically leave our docks heading out for the water! By the time you get back, we promise you'll agree that of all the many things to do in Cape May New Jersey, Jetski rentals are one of the most fun and memorable attractions!

What's up with the deposit?

This is part of the Damage Waiver Agreement that you will need to fill out and sign when you rent ski from us. Each ski requires a $500.00 cash or credit deposit (sorry no debit cards) in case of damages that you and or someone else causes to our equipment while in your care.
What happens if I damage one of the Waverunners?

That's what the deposit is for, at that time one of our managers will walk you through the process. Your deposit will be held until the actual cost of the repairs has been determined. Commonly it takes a few days to have the unit taken to a the repair shop, at that time the cost of the repairs will be determined, a repair order listing what repairs and parts are needed is written up. A copy of the repair order and some other paper work is prepared and mailed to you, if the repairs cost less than the deposit that was held at that time a refund will be issued for the overpayment.

What is the difference between a Jet Ski, WaveRunner, and SeaDoo?

Each are types of PWC's or Personal Watercrafts. JetSki is the trademarked name for Kawasaki's line of PWC's. WaveRunner is the trademarked name for Yamaha's line of PWC's. SeaDoo is the trademarked name for Bombardier's line of PWC's. Some people commonly think of "Jet Skis" as the stand up type of PWC, and the WaveRunner as the sit down type. This is not true. There are stand up jet Skis, and Seated Jet Skis. The same is true for the WaveRunners, etc. Most manufacturers offer a line of two-seater, three-seater, and stand up models.

You commonly refer to Jet Skis / WaveRunners / Sea Doos throughout your site. Do you offer all brands?
No, we only offer the 3-seater Yamaha WaveRunners and 3-seater Sea Doo . We commonly refer to all brands throughout our site to avoid a misunderstanding, since some people may not understand the differences between each make of PWC.

How many people can ride on a WaveRunner?

Each WaveRunner is sized for three people, or 500 pounds maximum. It is more enjoyable to only have 2 adults at a time.